Part of His Story

Lord of Rings flickr Zanastardust

Last year, I read the Lord of the Rings trilogy (and watched the movies). The first time I went through the books and movies years ago, I was lost and confused, because I couldn’t keep track of who was who. The old guys looked alike, the elves all looked alike, the dwarves were all bearded-short guys, etc. It didn’t help that they all had funny names.

But going through the story a second time, I was able to do better keeping track of each character. And what I got to appreciate this time was the importance that each person (or creature) played in the grand scheme of things.

Bilbo (the “original” Hobbit) had his part of the story, as did his nephew Frodo. Samwise had his. So did each human (good or evil), elf, dwarf, orc, ent, . . . Everyone. Even (as Gandalf the Wizard taught us) the conniving Gollum played a crucial role in the fate of the Ring, and the fate of Middle Earth.

Everyone has a part of the story. But no one has the whole story, and no one is the whole story.

God’s Story

You might have heard this definition of history. “History = HIS story” (as in God’s story). It may be a little cheesy, but it’s true. Everything that has ever occurred through all time, and everything that is occurring, and everything that will happen, it’s all about God.

I have been reading through the Old Testament prophets for the last few months. When I read through Amos, I could only think of fabulous chocolate chip cookies.

But then chapter 9, verse 7 got my attention:

“Are you not like the Cushites to me, O people of Israel?” declares the LORD. “Did I not bring up Israel from the land of Egypt, and the Philistines from Caphtor and the Syrians from Kir?”

Did you catch that? God is talking about what He did for the Philistines and Syrians, and places like Caphtor and Kir. We see the OT times as focused on God’s people. God was working in Israel, but He wasn’t ONLY working in Israel. He was working in other places as well.

God’s story is not limited to Israel or Greenville or Allendale. His story is not limited to the Espinosas or your neighborhood or your missionary friends. His story is not even limited to our planet, solar system, or galaxy.

His story is much bigger than ours.

His Story, Our Adventure

Espinosas 13NovAnd yet He graciously allows us to be a part of His story. This is true for our time in Allendale.

You may have heard that we were recently named the Family of the Year in Allendale. This feels weird, since we’ve only been here 3 years, and since we are leaving this summer. We are surprised, honored, and humbled to have been given this recognition.

When we were interviewed for this story, we were “tricked” into thinking the article was going to be about something else. But I’m glad that I was able to communicate this principle:

“This is our adventure, but it’s God’s story. God was at work in Allendale long before we got here.”

We really believe that. We are a part of His story. A small part for sure. And now that Our Season in Allendale is coming to a close, our part in the story is changing. We don’t think it’s ending, just changing in that we won’t live here. But Allendale will always be close to our hearts, just as we are close to our Father’s hearts.

The Next Chapter

For us, we are still trying to figure out where we fit next into God’s story. And we have a big transition coming up in front of us. We need to remember that we will get over this hill, by God’s grace. We can trust Him and seek Him.

We need to not just seek God’s mission and purpose for us. We need to seek Him, and Him alone. Please pray for us.

And what about you? Where are you fitting into God’s story? Are you seeking Him and His kingdom first (Matthew 6:33)?

And maybe you are wondering if you could be a part of God’s redemptive story in Allendale. Yes, you can. And here are 6 reasons you should be.

I’m inviting you to be a part of His work here. Come check it out. I’d love to talk to you about it, and maybe you could be a part of our Spring Break Camp.

It could be a thrilling chapter in His story, and yours.

“Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it.” (Luke 9:23-24)

Related Links:

**first image courtesy of Zanastardust via flickr

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Part of His Story”

  1. Jimmy says :

    Thanks for the post, Joey. It is always important to remember we are part of a greater story, and we are not the main characters in that story. I find myself all too often falling into the thought that it is about me, that I am the main character, and the story revolves around me. I need reminders like this constantly in my life so I remember I am graciously allowed a part in the story God is writing. We’re praying for you guys as you see the next chapter of your involvement in God’s story.

    • joeyespinosa says :

      Thanks, Jimmy, for this encouragement and your prayers. I’m with you in that I need these reminders constantly. Thankful for a gracious God, and for friends like you guys who help us know & trust Him more.

      (BTW — I thought of you as I made the LOTR references. I hope I portrayed it accurately!)

Leave a Reply

