The Journey

Travel 13Dec Cropped

This is what our December looked like, in terms of travelling:

  • 1st  –>  Drove from Greenville to Allendale (spent the week of Thanksgiving with family)
  • 11th  –>  Drove back to Greenville for meetings, doctor appointments, and Christmas with Joanna’s family
  • 15th  –>  Back to Allendale
  • 22nd  –>  To Lexington (worship at Radius Church, and lunch with friends), then to Columbia to see my family
  • 24th  –>  Back to Allendale; Christmas Eve at home, and waking up in our house on Christmas morning (a tradition for us)
  • 25th  –>  In the afternoon, drove to Jacksonville; spent night in a hotel
  • 26th  –>  Drove to Venice Beach (FL) to spend the rest of the week with a lot of my extended family
  • 29th  –>  Drove to St. Augustine; spent Monday (the 30th) with our friends the Dosters
  • 31st  –>  To Savannah to spend New Year’s Eve with friends / mentors (we’ve done this every year since we’ve been in Allendale)
  • January 1st  –>  Back to Allendale again. Pfew!

We had such fun seeing so many family and friends last month. But after 1800 miles of driving between these destinations, we know that it’s always good to be back home.

Looking Ahead to 2014

If you are like most Americans, you will have some resolutions and/or goals for the upcoming year. I have some, and will communicate what I’m thinking next week, on my other blog.

And those goals don’t count everything else I want to do, like continue writing my blogs and figure out what job I will have when we leave Allendale. Yeah, a job would be nice.

But as we make plans and goals, let us remember that the purpose is not in the goal, but in the journey, and in the One who directs our journey.

“The heart of man plans his way,
but the LORD establishes his steps.”
(Proverbs 16:9)

My advice for you (and for me): Don’t get too hung up on goals, but make them. Without goals, you will drift from day to day and year to year. Don’t set up your resolutions as an idol, but do make them a priority.

A Lesson from Scrooge

We can follow the thinking of Ebenezer Scrooge (last month, I read A Christmas Carol for the first time ever). Before the third Spirit leaves him, Scrooge muses,

“Are these the shadows of the things that Will be, or are they the shadows of things that May be, only? . . .

Men’s courses will foreshadow certain ends, to which, if persevered in, they must lead. . . . But if the course be departed from, the ends will change. . . .

I am not the man I was. I will not be the man I must have been but for this intercourse. Why show me this, if I am past all hope! . . .

I will honor Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year. I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons that they teach.”

It is not for us to live in past regret. It is only for us to learn from our past, to envision a better hope, and to do what we can to make it happen.

Wishing you a joyous and fruitful New Year.

Related Link:

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

