My Inspiration

Sometimes it’s easy to get distracted from what our main focus needs to be here in Allendale. I can get caught up in the activity of getting things done, meeting the needs of the people, and building relationships. While those are great things to be a part of, I must remember that they must not take the place of the primary purpose of a follower of Jesus.

Our inspiration and controlling factor is not what’s ahead of us (the needs of the people), but what’s behind us (that Jesus was sent for us, and that Jesus called us to go).

“As the Father has sent me, so I also send you.”  (John 20:21)

If I am motivated by the needs of those around me, I will crumble. If I find my satisfacation in the “celebrity” of serving here, I will be useless to God. If I only think about building relationships with brothers and sisters here, and not with the Creator, I will find myself empty.

I must stay focused on the call, and even more, the One who called me.

I must not let sympathy overwhelm the fact that I am loved by God, and that I have been sent by Jesus.

Related Links:

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “My Inspiration”

  1. susan says :

    Joey, this is a great reminder for us all! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

