Encouraged by Your Confidence

In the first half of December, as I drove around different parts of Allendale and Fairfax, I reflected on the past 12 months. Our first visit to Allendale was December 14, 2010. I remember riding around and not really knowing what everything was that we saw.

Now, a year later, I see the same buildings, but I don’t feel nearly as confused or lost. Allendale is familiar to us now. It is home.

But when people ask what has been the hardest part, my answer is easy. We miss our community. We miss our friends and our church. We are being poured out (II Timothy 4:6), and being filled up doesn’t come as easy as it used to. 

We were away from Allendale for a couple of weeks around Christmas. Best for me was the 8 days we had in Greenville. Besides just relaxing and being with family, I enjoyed the many breakfasts, lunches, dinners and other meetings that I had – with friends, mentors, and other leaders. It was a much-needed time for me to be filled back up.

And it made me remember the many encouragements I’ve received since we began our adventure in Allendale. Here are just some of the things I was told in 2011:

If I could choose between you and someone else to be in Allendale, I’d want you.

You are the right man, at the right time, in the right place.

We’re proud of you.

You are doing a great job.

What you are doing, you are really good at, and you need to keep doing that in the future.

More than anything, I appreciate leaders and friends expressing their confidence in us. In fact, my eyes watered up when I told a couple of leaders, “Thank you for having confidence in us.”

As we begin 2012, there will be new routines, new jobs, new adventures, new understandings, and new unknowns. We’ve been entrusted with a mission – entrusted by God, entrusted by Grace Church, and entrusted by over two dozen financial supporters.

To all of you who have been a part of this (including all you readers), we are filled up and energized by your confidence in us.

Related Links:

image courtesy of marco_cecc via sxc.hu

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Encouraged by Your Confidence”

  1. Loren Pinilis says :

    That’s great that you’re getting that encouragement. Just remember that for every note of encouragement you hear, there are probably dozens who are silently thinking the same thing. So hold your head up!

Leave a Reply

