A Three-Hour Meal, a Three-Hour Meal

Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale . . .

Last Friday, I was invited to a Saturday morning breakfast. I was looking forward to sleeping in after a long, tiring week, but I knew I needed the fellowship. The meal would begin at 8 AM, and I was assured it would be done by 9.

I didn’t get home until 11:30 AM. 

Two Tweets from Saturday

At 7:55 AM, I wrote:

“Heading to a men’s breakfast with Vision Ministries in #AllendaleSC. Thankful for the fellowship from this church.”

Later on, I updated my thoughts:

“In #AllendaleSC, “being prompt” apparently means starting 30 minutes late, and finishing 2 hours after schedule. Not good for Type A’s.”

What Happened

When I arrived at 8 o’clock, I saw a couple of other young kids that I knew. I made an off-hand comment, “Oh. If I knew these kids were going to be here, I’d have brought Elijah.” I was told to go home and get him. I took one of the boys with me to ride back home, as I called Elijah and told him to stop playing video games and get out of his pajamas. We picked him up and headed back, getting there at 8:30. Breakfast had not yet started.

Don’t get me wrong. It was a great breakfast. We feasted on eggs, rolls, grits, and four kinds of meat. I enjoyed catching up with some guys I hadn’t seen in a while. Elijah enjoyed playing pool with the other boys.

Then, at around 10 AM, when we were wrapping up, I was asked to help set up something on the computer. I’m no tech guy, and it took longer than I expected. It was after 11AM by the time we left.

What I Need to Remember

I had planned to eat breakfast, chit chat, and get back home to work on some things before lunch, but my plans were thrashed. Honestly (and ashamedly), I was frustrated that my task list was untouched that morning. But God kept reminding me of something:

Relationships and family are greater than tasks.

This is a good thing for Type A’s like me to remember. (Conversely, Type B’s usually need to be reminded that work does need to get done. But here, God is working on my heart.)

Though we do not typically worship at this church anymore, these folks are like family to me. For the 3 months that I lived down here by myself, they were my main support, my Home Away from Home.

No matter where I worship, no matter how infrequently I see these friends, they will always have a special place in my heart. And for whoever is so valued, is 3 hours really a long time to fellowship? No. It’s not nearly long enough.

Related Links:

image courtesy of dirkdiglar via sxc.hu

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “A Three-Hour Meal, a Three-Hour Meal”

  1. ragamuffinjoe says :

    I am learning some of the same things here lately. God is not concerned with our schedule. He wants us to make two things a priority: Him (of course) and other people.

    I am learning, as a teacher, the days that I have elaborate plans that I am very proud of will seldom go well. The days that I surrender my plans to him and earnestly pray that he will help me make loving others and showing his grace, mercy, love, and glory to others will always be the days that go best…because it is no longer about me.

    One thing I have been lead to pray is that God will slow me down. I ask him to help me to see every moment of the day as an opportunity for him to allow me to show his love and glory to others. That he will remind me constantly that everything, including time, is his. I need to trust him and be about the work that he has given me, and that is showing his love to others. Some days this goes awesome, some days not so much. But I am learning!

    Thanks for sharing this and reminding me of this. It is not about us. It is about God and his love.

    • joeyespinosa says :

      Isn’t it funny that almost every other culture in the world (besides US) people are not so stressed about schedules / tasks, but are more focused on relationships? And yet we think everyone else is WEIRD!!

      Thanks for sharing your experience. By the way, with my growing involvement in the schools in Allendale, I am more and more and more appreciative of teachers like you. Thanks for all you do!

Leave a Reply

