What’s So Great about the Great Commission?

2007 Kenya Nyeri Church Sign

Don’t give me credit for the following insight. The main idea I heard for the first time last month, in a preparatory meeting for the Eleuthera Mission Trip. It was insightful to me, and I wanted to share it with you.

How many of you can recite the “Great Commission”? Most of you, I’m sure, know it from Matthew 28:18-20:

18 And Jesus came up and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. 19 Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

A few things to point out (things I’ve learned over the last 19 years or so):

  1. The basis of Jesus commands is rooted in His authority. Don’t leave off verse 18. All that we do must come back to the headship of Jesus Christ.
  2. In the Greek, there is one action verb in Jesus’ command. It is “make disciples.” Go, baptize, and teach are participles, which describe the directive to make disciples.
  3. No matter how things go, we are encouraged and empowered by the fact that Jesus will always be with us.

This passage tends to be the basis for missions and missionaries. Make disciples! Go! Baptize! Teach! It’s the Great Commission.

But do you notice something about this passage? (I didn’t until a pastor pointed this out 6 weeks ago.) Jesus never calls this the Great Commission. We came up with that idea, not Jesus.

So what commandment does Jesus call great? See Matthew 22:36-40:

36 “Teacher, which is the great commandment in the Law?” 37 And He said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the great and foremost commandment. 39 The second is like it, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 On these two commandments depend the whole Law and the Prophets.”

Jesus says two commandments are great: first, to love the Lord, and second, to love others.

Have we gotten this all wrong? Has the church focused more on “missions” instead of worship and service? Have we put the missions cart ahead of the worship horse?

In Let the Nations Be Glad!, John Piper writes:

“Missions is not the ultimate goal of the church. Worship is. Missions exists because worship doesn’t. Worship is ultimate.”

As I look back on our time in Allendale, and a lot of the mistakes I’ve made, this idea has been encouraging. Sometimes I get frustrated that I haven’t been an evangelist. Of course, I need to not neglect that duty to spread the Gospel, but I need to remember that I can’t forget that Jesus greatest commandment is to worship God.

If I worship God and love others, the “missions” part will take care of itself. It will be a natural outflow to what we do. So let us focus less on our Great Commission, and more on Jesus’ Great Commandments.

Related Links:

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “What’s So Great about the Great Commission?”

  1. kimi17 says :

    Thanks for sharing this message. I agree that both missions and Worship should work in tandem in our lives. One can’t exist without the other. With only Worshiping we become stagnant in our faith and with focusing only on the ‘Great commission’ we forget the all important part, Worshiping God. That’s what Jesus reminds us when Mary washes His feet with expensive perfume.

    • joeyespinosa says :

      Thanks, Kimi. You are right in that we currently need both. The interesting part is that between “worship” & “missions,” ultimately only one will exist for eternity.

      And great point about the example of Mary. Thanks for your insight!

  2. Krista says :

    Very interesting thought…that we labeled it the great commission…not Jesus. It’s amazing how much you can take for granted as ‘bibilical’, when it’s really not. I was an adult before I found out that “God helps those who help themselves” was not in the Bible and not biblical!

    For me personally though…the issue of worship has been more about applying that to my daily life and I how live and what I do. And I see your point about how that feeds into missions. Because if I had my way I’d stay in my own world listening to online teaching and rock’n worship music and never leave my house! I’d live in a perpetual state of a Hillsong concert with eyes and hands raised! But that does nothing for missions and reaching the lost…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 886 other followers

